Tuesday 19th March 2013

Special Post!!

The Long Awaited Monitor has arrived!!!

I spoke with the supplier (metaphorically) via E-mail on sunday and he dropped the bombshell news (for me) that my monitor would be arriving the next day,
Monday. -I was not expecting it until the 31st March onwards as an advert addenda had been fixed to the original advert on the companys website.

When it arrived I unpacked it and found all the necessary leads within -(theres just something about the `new` smell of virgin equipment..) I made space amid
the clutter and hooked it up.
The display is in a word – STUNNING. – To test the unit I loaded a few 4K HD Files from youtube amd Vimeo – if you enter “4k” in the search field in youtube you`ll
see the type of clip I mean. – you have to make the clip full screen and then change the resolution settings (the `cog`) to “Original”.
The viewing Aspect is basically “If you can see the screen, you can see the image”. (which is pretty good:-)
The base resolution is 1920 x 1080 which is Full HD (1080), Films look very good on it.

The touchscreen functions work via a USB link or a dedicated video link lead. – I chose the USB lead , which also activates the built in 4 way (powered) USB Hub.
There are also inputs for HDMI , Ethernet (not sure what thats used for , someone told me it has something to do with the Bios), a microphone input and
sound/headphone output.

I found setting up the drivers and client software to be straightforward and easy. When I First switched on the configured and connected unit I tested the touchscreen.

The Latency is FAST , immediate response and as good as , if not better than your average smartphone. -I have to say that after receiving this unit and playing with
the Windows 8 Metro Apps – I finally “get” the Windows 8 Operating system. It transforms from a weird microsoft experiment into something I can see myself using every day.

My computer is a little underpowered where graphics are concerned because I use the on board Intel graphics instead of a dedicated card. My Experience index is 3.5
because of the on board graphics. – Your score is calculated by the lowest mark in several categorys – graphics , processor, memory etc,
-3.5 is pretty low but would be boosted to an pretty good score of 7 or above if I were to upgrade, because my next score up for my machine is 7. (your score is the LOWEST individual” score).
(The SSD makes a big difference),- For comparison, my windows 7 machine has a score of 6 and my Vista laptop is 5.

Well, I won`t witter on about how good this is , I `ll just post these pics and you can see for yourself!!





Leave a Reply

